October 22, 2007

Table as metaphor

Posted in Uncategorized at 10: 54 am by MK

I am welcomed and quickly urged to sit at the mismatched kitchen table.  Before I can say yes, please to the hand motions asking if I would like to eat, a bowl of flat noodles is placed in front of me.  I am encouraged to spoon out coconut flavored soup over noodles and told, this is a Burmese traditional dish by my interpreter for the evening.  I’m given a drink to calm the spicy flavors:  a bottle of Sunkist orange soda is placed next to my glass.  You know, the kind you would drink at the roller skating rink on Friday night to make your upper lip turn orange.  Noodles, coconut soup, Sunkist soda and a slowly becoming familiar grocery store two blocks up.

1 Comment »

  1. lentoccalia said,

    Thanks for the post


Leave a Reply

