October 3, 2007

Myanmar unrest

Posted in Myanmar at 8: 12 pm by MK

I’ve had a few people ask me if I know how A. & K. feel hearing about the terrible situation in Myanmar right now. Without a translator we could not have that conversation, but somehow I don’t think I would feel comfortable discussing it even with a translator. I imagine the pain is all too fresh and real for them.

Based on the little history I was given on the family, I believe that A. originally left Myanmar in 1988 when the current junta came to power.  My guess is that he was about 15 at the time.  At age 15 he managed to leave as the junta was crushing the then pro-democracy movement and Senior Gen. Than Shwe became leader.  I can’t begin to imagine what A. has witnessed.  And I can’t imagine his emotional response to the current violence.  Maybe some day I’ll feel comfortable asking him about it, but not right now.  He hasn’t even been in his new home six months.

Leave a Reply

