September 12, 2007

The baby

Posted in Uncategorized at 12: 42 pm by MK

The one-year-old is finally warming up to me.  When I first use to go to the apartment he was absolutely terrified of me, and would cry if I tried to go near him.  I wonder if he had ever seen someone who looked like me before?

Last night he was very curious about me, and even sat on my lap for part of the lesson.  He was also curious about my purse.  After digging through it to see what he could find, he decided he liked the book I had, Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose.   But more specifically it was Prose’s picture on the back of the book that he spent most of the night staring at. 

A perfect collision of worlds.  

6 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said,

    Have you thought baout bringing fun things for the baby to play with while you are there. Then he will associate you with a positive memory just in case you do look like someone he was afraid of.

  2. mariakristin said,

    I think that’s a great idea (and one I know you brought up before). Any specific suggestions? So this would be like giving him a gift? Because I imagine I can’t bring a toy and then take it home with me…But then will the other two kids wonder why they aren’t given a gift? OR am I thinking about this way too much….

  3. Elizabeth said,

    Maybe you can make the toy part of your purpose for being there. That way, you bring it with you and take it back every time you come to visit (like the picture dictionary). Leapfrog has some very cool toys geared towards young children that deal with letters of the alphabet, numbers, animals, etc.

  4. Elizabeth said,

    check out some of these

    http://www.leapfrog.com/Primary/SkillSets/Infant/ReadingLanguage.jsp?bmLocale=en_US

  5. Maureen Lavarnway said,

    Hi Maria! I don’t know if you remember me, but my name is Maureen Lavarnway (my maiden name is Gaffney and I am Ed Gaffney’s daughter). I spoke to Elizabeth Palmer this summer and she said that I might be able to help you out with ESL. I am currently teaching ESL for the Watertown City School district and would be MORE than happy to help you out with anything I can. I have only been doing this for 3 years, so I may not have a ton of answers for you but I can certainly put you in touch with someone who can. E-mail me back with any questions you have. I also just got an e-mail from a woman at BETAC (which is where we got a ton of ESL info and announcements about workshops) announcing a workshop for anyone who has Burmese students. I can give you more info via e-mail if you are interested!!!!!

  6. mariakristin said,

    Hi Maureen,
    Thank you so much for your post & your offer to help! Definitely any insights or suggestions you can give me would be greatly appreciated. As you can read from my posts, I’m just learning things as I go.

    I’ll e-mail you about the workshops and if there are any good ESL Web sites you use, I’d love to know what they are too.

    Right now I’m working with just the 2 kids. They have very little English (still struggling with the alphabet). Any lesson plan suggestions? Should I just be focused on increasing their vocab.? I’d love to know your thoughts…


Leave a Reply

