September 12, 2007

Lower vs. Upper Case Letters

Posted in Literacy Needs at 12: 27 pm by MK

Last night I worked with just the two children (Z. age 10 and G. age 11).  By being able to spend some time alone with them, I realized how little English they know/understand and how they were just getting swept along in the adult group lessons.  I spent a lot of time on the alphabet with Z.  She has trouble distinguishing M from N and also difficulty remembering R and U.  Another issue I discovered is that she has learned to recognize letters only in upper case form.  Therefore, as I had her spelling out words from the picture dictionary, I realized she wasn’t familiar with the shapes of the lower case letters.  Yes, a huge deal.  Remember her alphabet is completely different.

So it makes me think about what else I’m missing, or not clued into.  And I realize the only way to figure these things out is to keep working.  But in the meantime it feels slightly frustrating that I’m not picking up these things sooner. 

Leave a Reply

