August 3, 2007

The whirlwind of life

Posted in Uncategorized at 9: 03 am by MK

Yes there was a lag in my postings… This past week has been stressful and exciting all at the same time. I have accepted a position as a community educator with Cornell Cooperative Extension of Albany County. Under the division of human ecology I will be teaching a variety of “life-skills” classes, e.g. how to make a family budget, how to best use your food stamps, how to conserve energy in your home, how to make nutritional food choices. I will be writing communications materials for them as well.

I am beyond excited about this opportunity. Community-based educational opportunities for adults seems to be essential right now. How else do you reach those in need who have left our educational system but still need the chance to make the best out of their lives? I am sure this job is full of challenges that I’m not even yet aware of, but I can safely assume I won’t be bored.

In light of this blog, I think this job experience will bring a new dimension and aspect to my research. At this point I’m not sure what percentage of second-language speakers will be in my classes, but I’m sure they will comprise a portion. I hope to include those interactions in my discussions.

I begin this adventure August 20th; keep your fingers crossed.

2 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said,

    Congratulations! This is an incredible opportunity and I look forward to reading about how this impacts your tutoring.

  2. retepsnave said,

    Congrats!

    and what fun with the shout-out from Human Ecology Forum


Leave a Reply

